Sunday, January 31, 2016

The Weekly Recap (Week of 1/24/16)



I link to Stacking the Shelves by Tynga's Reviews, and The Sunday Post by Caffeinated Book Reviewer.


---my life---
I’ve been sick, again. But because of this, I haven’t been able to read a lot. Also, I have had an increase in work. Finally, I find that I tend to catch a case of the reading slumps at the beginning of the year. My goal for this year is 100 books, and I am officially 3 books behind. Thanks Goodreads for reminding me. I should be posting a Wrap Up for the books that I read in January, so look for that if you want to see what books I managed to read.


---Currently reading---
At the time I’m writing this, I am not currently reading anything. But here are three books I will most likely read next (actually four; the fourth one is for review and I can’t find it on Goodreads. So no photo on this post).

 Unhinged (Splintered, #2)ChimeRelentless (Relentless, #1)

---books I have acquired---
None from the library, but I did get these two via NetGalley for review.

Anything You WantDevil and the Bluebird

---Posts you might have missed---

  •   It was freebie week on Top Ten Tuesday! Click here to see what I did.
  •   I explained why I like the cover of Trouble is a Friend of Mine on Cover of the Week.



---Question of the week---
Are you behind on your Goodreads reading challenge? Are you doing the Goodreads reading challenge? Let me know in the comments. I can’t wait to see what you guys say!

Saturday, January 30, 2016

Book Review: Indestructible by Emma L. Adams

Indestructible (Indestructible, #1)Two years ago, the fiends invaded, with a devastating explosion that split the world in two. Even now, energy blasts strike without warning, destroying everything in their paths. The fiends hunt anyone unlucky enough to escape.

My name is Leah. An energy blast killed my group. It should have killed me, too. Instead, I woke up alone in the wilderness, stalked by the fiends.

My only hope is the red-cloaked strangers who call themselves the Pyros. They can do the impossible and make flames shoot from their hands, and are more than a match for the fiends. Right now, my one chance for safety -- and revenge -- is with them.

But they're keeping secrets from me. Like those skeletons hidden under their base. And the reasons I developed a psychic link with someone who can't stand the sight of me -- after he saved my life.

If I don't uncover the truth about why the world ended the first time, my new safe haven might go up in smoke...

Indestructible is the first in a YA post-apocalyptic fantasy trilogy, perfect for fans of Divergent, Angelfall and The Mortal Instruments.



 Amazon
Goodreads

*Thank you to Lola's Blog Tours for providing me a e-book copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions in this review are my own.*


But I wanted more! I mean, I did have problems with this book, but I really liked the ending, even though I wanted more. In this book we follow Leah, as she tries to survive from multiple problems, but mostly the fiends. The fiends invaded Earth about two years ago, and Leah is just trying to survive. Everything changes though when she finds out that she is a Pyro. That's when things get crazy.

I really enjoyed Leah. Yes, she did kinda seem like the perfect girl, but I really enjoyed her dialog, and her actions. She was always so caring, and she wanted to protect her friends. I really had a fun time reading about her. I didn't really like Cas though. He was just the typical YA love interest. He was a jerk, not nice, and I have no idea why the girls in YA books fall for guys like him.

The big reason I didn't like this book was because it was predicable. I guess that most post-apocalyptic books are like that, but I just wanted more. There were a lot of original things, like the fiends, the Pyros, and the characters. I just feel like I can tell where the story is going.

I really like the main villain! I'm not going to tell you who he is, but I really like where he is going. Probably my favorite character in the book.

So overall, I really liked this book! While the plot was predictable, I really enjoyed the characters, magic, and villain. I will be reading the second book.

3.5/5 Points
I really liked it, but I didn't love it.    



About the Author:Emma spent her childhood creating imaginary

worlds to compensate for a disappointingly

average reality, so it was probably inevitable that

she ended up writing speculative fiction. She was

born in Birmingham, UK, which she fled at the

first opportunity to study English Literature at

Lancaster University. In her three years at

Lancaster, she hiked up mountains, skydived in

Australia, and endured a traumatic episode

involving a swarm of bees in the Costa Rican

jungle. She also entertained her creative writing

group and baffled her tutors by submitting strange

fantasy tales featuring dragons and supernatural

monsters to workshops. These included her first

publication, a rather bleak dystopian piece, and a

disturbing story about a homicidal duck (which

she hopes will never see the light of day).

Now a reluctant graduate, Emma refuses to settle

down and be normal. When not embarking on

wild excursions and writing fantasy novels, she edits and proofreads novels for various

publishing houses and reads an improbable number of books. Emma is currently working on

the Alliance series, a multiple-universe adult fantasy featuring magic, monsters, cool gadgets

and sarcasm. Her upper-YA urban fantasy Darkworld series is published by Curiosity Quills

Press.

You can find and contact Emma here:

- Website: http://www.emmaladams.com/

- Blog: http://throughthegateway.blogspot.co.uk/

- Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ELAdams12

- Twitter: https://twitter.com/ELAdams12

- Google +: https://plus.google.com/106335591763620970296/posts

- Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6563991.Emma_L_Adams

- Newsletter: http://weebly.us7.list-

manage1.com/subscribe?u=1446e15bfe2cb4635fca33970&id=3f4c83dcfa

 

Wednesday, January 27, 2016

Cover of the Week: Trouble is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly

Trouble is a Friend of MineOf course I didn’t like Digby when I first met him. No one does.

The first time Philip Digby shows up on Zoe Webster’s doorstep, he’s rude and he treats her like a book he’s already read and knows the ending to.

But before she knows it, Zoe’s allowed Digby—annoying, brilliant, and somehow…attractive? Digby—to drag her into a series of hilarious, dangerous, and only vaguely legal schemes all related to the kidnapping of a local teenage girl. A kidnapping that might be connected to the tragic disappearance of his little sister eight years ago. When it comes to Digby, Zoe just can’t say no.

But is Digby a hero? Or is his manic quest an indication of a desperate attempt to repair his broken family and exorcize his own obsessive-compulsive tendencies? And does she really care anyway?

This is a contemporary debut with razor-sharp dialogue, ridiculously funny action, and a dynamic duo you won’t soon forget.










Is it weird of me to say that Iove the shade of gray on this cover? Just me? Also I really like the handwritten font. I think that it gives the cover a nice pop. What do you think of this cover? Let me know in the comments!

Tuesday, January 26, 2016

Give me, Give me Tuesday: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Glass Sword (Red Queen, #2)Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?




The time is almost here! If you can't tell, I'm really excited. I cannot wait to see where the story goes, and how Mare is going to get revenge on Maven. This book comes out February 9, 2016.  Are you excited for this book? Let me know in the comments! 

Top Ten Tuesday: Freebie Week



Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where each week you make a top ten list to go with that week’s bookish theme.


Theme: Freebie Week!

Hello everybody! I realized just how hard it is to come up with an idea when you have to come up with it on your own. So, I decided to do Top Ten Books That I Have Recently Read. I know that it is not very original, but that’s what I came up with. So without further ado, my TTT. Make sure that you leave your TTT posts in the comments!

1.   Indestructible by Emma L. Adams- Okay, so when I’m writing this (Friday) I have not finished this book yet. But, by Tuesday, I am sure that I will have finished it. 

2.   Don't Get Caught by Kurt Dinan- I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review, and let me tell you, this book was so good! I highly recommend that you guys read it when it comes out.

3.   Between the Notes by Sharon Huss Roat- I did a review for this one! If you want to see in detail how I liked the book click here. But overall, I liked this book.

4.   Sweet by Emmy Laybourne- I also did a review for this book, so you can click here to read it. But overall, I loved this book! If you can, you should defiantly pick this one up!

5.   Cupcakes, Trinkets, and Other Deadly Magic by Meghan Ciana Doidge- This was a very meh book for me. I can see why some people really like this book, but what can I say? I’m more of an ice cream person.

6.   The Promise of Amazing by Robin Constantine- I don’t remember much of this book. I guess that’s a bad thing? I gave it three stars on Goodreads, so I must have liked it.

7.   Tiger's Promise by Colleen Houck- I thought that this was a really good novella! Through the Tiger Saga, I always thought Yesubai was a bad person, but in the novella we get to see that she really isn’t a bad person.

8.   Oblivion by Jennifer L. Armentrout- I didn’t like it as much as the rest of the series, but I still really enjoyed it.

9.   The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson- I did a review for this book, click here to read it. Overall, I loved this book! You guys should totally read it.

10.            Nimona by Noelle Stevenson- I also did a review for this book, and you can click here to read it. I don’t usually read graphic novels, but I really enjoyed this one! I will be checking out more of Noelle Stevenson’s books in the future.

Alright guys! That’s it for this week! Hope everybody has a lovely week, and I will see you guys in the next post. Bye! :)